Skip to content

Mowat Cup Jr A Tier 2 championship to be played in Kimberley this April


Last June, the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League applied to BC Hockey to be reclassified as Junior A. The BCHL’s departure to independent hockey left a void in sanctioned junior hockey programming in the province.

In July, it was announced that the application was successful. All teams began the current season as Tier 2 Junior A.

Traditionally, the KIJHL and other Junior B franchises played a four team championship each April — The Cyclone Taylor Cup.

However, with the move to Junior A Tier 2, a new championship will be played this April in Kimberley.

BC Hockey has announced that they will revive a historic trophy — the Mowat Cup — to be awarded to the winner of the Junior A Tier 2 championship this spring.

“The Mowat Cup has long symbolized Junior A hockey excellence in British Columbia,” BC Hockey Chief Executive Officer Cameron Hope said in a press release. “It’s fitting to see its return, and we all look forward to seeing a champion hold it high in Kimberley for the first time in several seasons.”

Scheduled from April 18-21, 2024, the Junior A Tier II Provincial Championship Tournament will be held in Kimberley, where the champions of the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League, Pacific Junior Hockey League, and the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League will vie for the Cup alongside the host Kimberley Dynamiters. The tournament will feature a four-team round-robin and playoff to determine the 2024 Mowat Cup Champion.

The Mowat Cup has a long history, having first being presented in 1928 after being donated to the BC Amateur Hockey Association (now BC Hockey) by John Mowat of Victoria. Fernie won the inaugural Mowat Cup.

“The Kimberley Dynamiters organization is thrilled to compete for the Mowat Cup this spring at the Kimberley Civic Centre.” Kimberley Dynamiters General Manager and Head Coach Derek Stuart said. “Hosting a provincial championship is always special, and the addition of the Mowat Cup only heightens the excitement surrounding the event. Our entire community is excited and looks forward to welcoming everyone here in April.”

Aside from host team, Kimberley the other teams are yet to be decided. They will be the teams that win the KIJHL, VIJHL and PJHL championships. Playoffs are currently underway.

READ: Kimberley to host 2024 BC Hockey Junior A Championships

Carolyn Grant

About the Author: Carolyn Grant

I have been with the Kimberley Bulletin since 2001 and have enjoyed every moment of it.
Read more